Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice with career move

Greetings WCI forum,

I am currently in my last year in a pediatric sub-specialty and my wife is a pediatrician who plan to move for our new jobs. We both have a decent/manageable amount of student debt. I have around 150K and hers is 280K. She is now 6.5 years in her PSLF and I have refinanced my loans and should be able to pay them back in 4 years or less. My biggest question, since we will be moving to a new job next July, is what to do with our current investments.

Retirement Accounts: I have one 403b from my current employer and one from residency and she actually has 3 separate 403b from residency, 1st job and current job. I have also opened up two back door Roth IRA accounts for each of us and funded those this year after reading more about this option. What is the best strategy going forward with all the 403b as we move hopefully to our final destination?

Savings: We have around 75K in savings and have moved 50K into a high interest savings bank for a future down payment towards a house. The other 25K is an emergency fund. Could there be a more optimal way to handle this money?

Also I took a couple year between residency and fellowship as a pediatric hospitalist and was convinced into opening a whole life insurance plan which I am currently in the works of surrendering even though it will cost me 25% of my total investment. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

welcome.
    glad to see more pediatricians. more is always better.

1- easiest is to move the old work plan to the new work plan. consider converting but likely you are in 24% bracket so dont know if i would do that.
    2- the efund should also be at ally. the house fund depends on how soon and how much you need to buy a house.
    3- get rid of the whole life. dont make that mistake again.

Comment

Originally posted by torque20 View Post