Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Portfolio advice

Hello,

First time poster so please go easy on me. I am a PGY-2 resident currently working my way through boglehead's guide to investing. I was considering the following portfolio allocation:

50% total US stock market (VTI)
    20% international stocks (VXUS)
    10% RETIs (VNQ)
    20% bonds. (BND)

I have enough to max out a ROTH IRA. My training program does not offer a match. I don't have much in terms of loans (about 80K). I know that Vanguard fund's are a favorite. However, I have found cheaper expense ratios with Fidelity. I looked at their prospectus and I don't understand why or how they can offer a zero expense ratio fund. I just wanted to see if anyone can enlighten me about this issue. Should I consider getting their funds or just go with Vanguard?

Thanks

Go with whichever one you feel most comfortable with. All the major brokerages offer very low cost fund options. You don't hit your goal by saving a few hundredths of a percent here and there. You get there by living below your means, investing reasonably, and sticking to a plan.

Comment

Originally posted by Java View Post
      Hello,

First time poster so please go easy on me. I am a PGY-2 resident currently working my way through boglehead's guide to investing. I was considering the following portfolio allocation:

50% total US stock market (VTI)
      20% international stocks (VXUS)
      10% RETIs (VNQ)
      20% bonds. (BND)

I have enough to max out a ROTH IRA. My training program does not offer a match. I don't have much in terms of loans (about 80K). I know that Vanguard fund's are a favorite. However, I have found cheaper expense ratios with Fidelity. I looked at their prospectus and I don't understand why or how they can offer a zero expense ratio fund. I just wanted to see if anyone can enlighten me about this issue. Should I consider getting their funds or just go with Vanguard?

Thanks
      welcome.